anxiety, bipolar, chronic illness, depression, fibromyalgia, health, illness, mental illness, Movies, tv

TV?

When I was a kid my parents had me write in a journal what I watched on TV and how long I spent watching. I was only allowed 8 hours per week, including Saturday morning cartoons!

I didn’t know what my classmates were talking about when they got excited about shows they watched every night. I was amazed when they talked about watching TV all day on Saturdays.

My parents were both teachers and were left wing idealists. So I was raised differently from my friends. We never had any junk food around, I wasn’t allowed to eat sugar cereal and I had to drink diet soda. All these things don’t seem like that much, but together, especially the way kids latch onto anything they see as different, like me. Not only was I weird because I had very little experience with pop culture, but I really liked the learning part of school too! god forbid a kid cares about what is being taught​!

My whole life, as an adult, and even when I was in university, I didn’t watch much TV and rarely went to the movies. If someone turned on a TV I’d leave the room (I did watch Twin Peaks and Ren and Stimpy and a bit of MTV. That was when they showed music videos and bizarre, wonderful things like Liquid TV)

Even my favorite shows weren’t imporant to me. I could pass a few weeks and not watch anything.

For many years I didn’t even own a tv. When my husband insisted on buying a big tv I had a fit! I made him put it in the computer room. He liked to play console games on it, too. That seemed like a reasonable use of a tv.

My huz and I had many little conflicts about him wanting us to watch things together and I didn’t. I didn’t want him to watch anything at, but I was very insecure and had to be in the same room as my husband. Poor guy! I followed him around crying.

Having a tablet and Netflix made it all change. I could watch things alone, and I didn’t have to compromise on what to watch. Netflix original shows provided excellent content that actually kept my interest.

now I watch a couple of hours a day and I go to the movies at least once a week. Considering how bored I get, being stuck at home with my illnesses keeping me from doing things most people do, watching stuff is a bit of a life saver. It makes time pass more quickly.

I ‘ve had to tell myself that watching TV isn’t morally wrong!

2 thoughts on “TV?”

  1. Interesting… and seems we had similar upbringings in that my exposure and consumption to TV during my childhood was severely restricted compared to everyone else I knew at school. I get the feeling my parents were quality freaks in that what I was allowed to watch was generally “good” stuff. It kinda frustrated me at the time as like yourself, everyone would be going on about all these shows I never watched which made me feel more out of place.

    As I got older, I felt more alienated by TV. I found that I enjoyed watching older films and shows more than what was current. Today? I find TV totally unwatchable. I own a TV but use it purely as my PC monitor – I have no aerial, boxes or anything that enables me to watch live TV. Doesn’t interest me. I’ll download the occasional documentary but that’s it and even then I think the standards of them now are appalling.

    Last time I was at the cinema was in 2001. I got dragged along by an ex-friend to see “Shrek” – that partly explains why we’re ex-friends. Hated it. Never liked going to the cinema in part because of my deafness problem. I’d sit there being bombarded by music and surround sound effects, but the dialog underneath it all was barely audible for me.

    So, I’m a part of a minority who never watches TV (I get exposed to it whenever I visit my Mum and it reminds me why I hate TV!) and furthermore, I haven’t bought or read a newspaper in 19 years. If I’m offered one for free, or see one left on a seat on trains or buses, I won’t touch them. I realised in my early twenties that they’re toxic. I could write a book on all this stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My parents were very strict about the quality and message of the show. For instance, I wasn’t allowed to watch the Flintstones because the women were shown in a bad light! I think my dad didn’t really care. We watched Warner Brothers cartoons together. My mother thought they were too violent. They actually are pretty violent!

      I agree totally about news papers and magazines. I can’t watch the news without feeling panicky.

      Shrek! That’s about the worst movie ever for you go to!

      The deafness would keep me away from the movies. Meh!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

