chronic illness, diabetes, disabled, fatigue, fibromyalgia, stress relief

self care for the chronically ill

as you know i am chronically ill and i n chronic pain, and  because of that there are lot of things that are harder to do as it is for people who are healthy. i get tired easily, things like standing and bending over, are really painful. i spend a lot of time sleeping and resting because i don’t feel good. because of fatigue it seems impossible to take care of your body.

for a very long time i didn’t do much of any self care. my body was getting dried and ashy.because my diabetes, my feet were awful. the skin on my face needs a lot of  help. my hands were stained with paint and other art supplies. i have psoriasis in visible spots like my elbows. it’s gross and itches and hurts. i have cream for it that works really well by i wasn’t put it on there and all the other places i have the skin problems. i change tense here because things are under control, some haven’t started yet, some are i n process, etc.

i saw my rheumatologist yesterday, for my three month check in. we were talking and he told me how well i was doing. he made a list on the computer and turned the monitor towards me. he typed all the daily self care things i had to do, it was a lot. really a whole lot. the only thing i wasn’t doing was exercise. heh. t he doctor is a gem. he’s cute, too!

i got a pedicure! i ordered some products, which inspires me to practice self care. i got salt hand scrub. kiwi sugar cube scrub for the body in the show. lip exfoliation. mask (two kinds), cinnamon tooth paste (i hate mint and this is the only flavor i  i’ve been able to find that wasn’t mint), facial moisturizer, body lotion, under anti aging creme, and gentle facial cleanser.  (i didn’t buy that all at once!) it’s really fun to buy new products and start a skin care routine. i learned a lot from reading @flzmrtnz ‘s blog post about her skin care routine. check it out  https://flzmrtnz.wordpress.com/2017/03/03/my-skincare-routine-tips/

the rheumatologist was kind of blown away by the amount of weight i’d lost since the last time i saw him, 3 months ago. it’s 40lbs! i keep having to buying new clothes. i just buy jeans once in awhile. lol. now *that’s* self care. i used to binge and i stopped and i just stopped eating so much!

exercise would be self care, but i hurt too much. i try take my dog on little bitty walks. my pain doctor told me to join a gym. i almost laughed. she she sees that i walk with a cane! she also took me off my prescription NSAID, which is awful because it’s so much painful without it. the rheumatologist gave me a different prescription NSAID and i’m feeling better already.

thanks for reading! if you have any questions about any of this, let me know, i’m happy to talk about my illnesses and anything related.

 

2 thoughts on “self care for the chronically ill”

Leave a Reply

