Uncategorized

good times

today I was going through a big pile of stuff that i found in a box in a mess, lol, and I saw a little thank you note from my gramma for a gift I gave her. there was a letter inside the card but I couldn’t handle reading it.

the main point of this is the card itself. it’s just a piece of folded watercolor paper. but my gramma was a professional painter, so I knew it was an exciting find. she had written,on the back, in perfect printing, “original watercolor by Ruth Mabie” the title is, “spotted adder’s tongue.”

the painting is a delicate yellow flower with beautifully shaded leaves and stem. it was cool to find the painting, but to see it again now that I can paint, is pretty amazing.

I can understand how she made this part or that. I can understand why the composition is the way it is, and I can identify the colors…

I can remember eating my gramma’s berry pie (omg) and watching her paint.

good times.

Leave a Reply

