Uncategorized

a boat stuck in the mud

i have had trouble with agoraphobia for last couple of years. i have been stuck (by the lovely whims of my mind) at home, and mostly in one room in the house. it’s been lifting a bit, but it’s been bad enough that it still keeps me here most of the time. i’m able to leave the house a few days a week. part of what made it so difficult was driving. i was scared to death to drive. my car scared me, other drivers scared me, i scared me! lol

i have a nice car, but it’s old, about 15 years old. it looks good, but was driving like a boat stuck in the mud (whatever that’s supposed to mean!). it seems hard to control and i practically had to floor it to get going at a decent speed. it’s never had engine trouble, and i know nil about cars, so i didn’t realize that’s why it was feeling so crappy.

i got ready to go to pick up a prescription and it made some appalling noises. we had it towed to the shop and it ended up costing us $1700!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

however, it’s totally different! everything is snappy and solid. they cleaned it beautifully and it feels like driving a new car!

(note to self, get regular maintenance done on your car!)

i left the house today, just to go to the post office, but i am pretty pleased with myself. 🙂 the car is wonderful and i think i’ll be able to get out and drive places sometimes, maybe a lot more often!

1 thought on “a boat stuck in the mud”

  1. Such a sad and yet happy post crazyruthie. Congratulations on getting to the post office, small step but can imagine what it took you to do this slightly. I hope the pleasure your car can give you encourages you out more often. I always feel safe in my car, as if it is my little mobile castle if you know what I mean. It gives me the freedom to leave any place or area that freaks me out and I can always find a place with no people around ~ yay 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

